Papuan people might refuse govt decisions on New Autonomous Regions

New Autonomous Regions
illustration - IST

Jakarta, Jubi TV – Member of the House of Representatives Legislative Body (Baleg DPR) Sturman Panjaitan suggested a public hearing before deciding on the new autonomous regions (DOB) in Papua.

“I suggest we hold a public hearing to listen to figures from all over the province,” Sturman said during a meeting at Senayan, Jakarta, on Wednesday, April 6, 2022.

Sturman emphasized that members of the House cannot determine these regions, both provinces and regencies /cities, based solely on what is already known.

“We have to keep listening to the people, we can’t decide here based on our own thoughts and input from a group of people that we think are right,” said Sturman, as quoted by Antara.

He also said that the Nabire Regent had also written to him, asking for a hearing with the House. In fact, Sturman suggested a working visit before deciding on the division of the territory.

“History records that when the Government divided the territory in Papua, the people did not immediately accept it,” he said.

Several issues were discussed during the working committee meeting, including the naming of the new autonomous regions, such as whether to use traditional and tribal names or administrative names as stipulated in the Special Autonomy Law.


They also discussed whether the Nabire Regency was to be put under the Province of North Papua or Central Papua.

Previously, Head of the Expertise Board of the Secretariat General of the House Inosentius Samsul explained the division of the five new autonomous regions in Papua. The Papua Province, with the capital city of Jayapura, will consist of Jayapura City, Jayapura Regency, Keerom Regency, Sarmi Regency, Mamberamo Raya Regency, and Bintang Mountains Regency.

The North Papua Province, with the capital city of Biak Numfor, will consist of Waropen Regency, Yapen Islands Regency, Biak Numfor Regency, Supiori Regency, and Nabire Regency.

The Central Papua Province, with the capital city of Timika, will consist of Puncak Jaya Regency, Paniai Regency, Mimika Regency, Dogiyai Regency, Deiyai Regency, Intan Jaya Regency, and Puncak Regency.

The Central Mountains Papua Province, with the capital city of Wamena, will consist of Jayawijaya Regency, Lanny Jaya Regency, Central Mamberamo Regency, Nduga Regency, Tolikara Regency, Yahukimo Regency, and Yalimo Regency.

Meanwhile, the South Papua Province, with the capital city of Merauke, will consist of Merauke Regency, Mapi Regency, Asmat Regency, and Boven Digoel Regency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *